PhD candidate of ECE NTUA (PCRL) wins best student paper award

PhD candidate Vasilis Katopodis of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering of NTUA was honoured with the single best student paper award at Conference: SPIE West 2018 – Optical Communications: Devices to Systems, Conference 10561 – Next-Generation Optical Communication: Components, Sub-Systems, and Systems VII, for the outstanding paper on:

Optical terabit transmitter and receiver based on passive polymer and InP technology for high-speed optical connectivity between datacenters
Paper 10561-6

presented at 30 January 2018 • 9:45 – 10:00 AM, in San Fransisco, California, USA

Abstract: A hybridly integrated multi-format transmitter and coherent receiver based on passive polymers and InP photonics and electronics are presented. The transmitter is capable of selective mQAM modulation using two integrated 3-bit power DACs for driving an array of two InP Mach Zehnder modulators assisted by a passive polymer platform for guiding the optical light on chip and for combining the In-phase and Quadrature-phase components of the modulated signal output. The coherent receiver comprises an optical hybrid front-end and a quad InP photodiode array followed by a high speed InP-DHBT TIA pair. Their transmission performance is experimentally evaluated up to 25Gbaud.

Authors: Vasilis Katopodis, Christos Tsokos, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece); David de Felipe, Fraunhofer-Institut für Nachrichtentechnik Heinrich-Hertz-Institut (Germany); Maria Spyropoulou, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece); Agnieszka Konczykowska, III-V Lab. (France); Alessandro Aimone, Fraunhofer-Institut für Nachrichtentechnik Heinrich-Hertz-Institut (Germany); Panos Groumas, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece); Jean-Yves Dupuy, Filipe Jorge, III-V Lab. (France); Haik Mardoyan, Rafael Rios Müller, Jeremie Renaudier, Philippe Jennevé, Fabien Boitier, Nokia Bell Labs. (France); Annachiara Pagano, Marco Quagliotti, Diego Roccato, TelecomitaliaLAB (Italy); Tom Keinicke Johansen, Technical Univ. of Denmark (Denmark); Marcello Tienforti, Antonello Vannucci, Cordon Group (Italy); Heinz-Gunter Bach, Norbert Keil, Fraunhofer-Institut für Nachrichtentechnik Heinrich-Hertz-Institut (Germany); Hercules Avramopoulos, Christos Kouloumentas, National Technical Univ. of Athens (Greece)

See more information at: