Doctoral Education in ECE School

The School has been operating a Postgraduate Studies Program (PSP) for many years. The main purpose of the PSP is the emergence of Researchers, Engineers and Scientists, who can take on a leading role in Research and Development on an international level.

The fact that the real knowledge of technology can generate substantial progress and development has been the starting point for the efforts of our School, which has advanced the postgraduate-doctoral studies in combination with the execution of important research projects within their framework.

As a result, the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering is the first School of the National Technical University of Athens to provide an institutionalized Doctoral Program, since 1999, which grants the title of Doctor of Engineering of NTUA or Doctor of NTUA.

Admission to the doctoral program

The admission of new doctoral candidates takes place once in a year. An announcement on available positions typically appears in July or September. The submission of applications is followed by an evaluation process, which ends up with the selection of the new doctoral students. For detailed admission requirements and procedures please consult the Guide to Doctoral Studies.

Funding sources

Because of the highly demanding nature of the doctoral program, it is advised for doctoral candidates to be funded by resources connected either directly or indirectly to their research activity. The School, therefore, provides the following platforms for the funding of its doctoral candidates:

  1. Participation in research projects: These are competitive projects, executed using state-of-the-art cutting-edge technologies usually funded by the European Union. Alternative funding sources can be the Greek General Secretariat for Research and Technology or the NTUA.

  2. Scholarships granted by NTUA: A number of scholarships are granted in a regular and competitive basis from the University itself. The institutions responsible for the managing these funds are the Management Committee of the Special Account for Research Grants of NTUA and the Institute of Communication and Computer Systems (ICCS).

  3. Scholarships granted by third-party Institutions: such can be the State Scholarships Foundation (IKY), the Democritos National Center for Scientific Research, the Eugenides, Onassis and Bodossaki foundations etc. Available scholarship sources are listed on the website of NTUA’s Career Office.

  4. International Conference participation funding: Every year the ECE School funds a number of doctoral candidates for the presentation of their research work in international conferences.

  5. Fees for the provision of ancillary work: Ancillary work is provisioned and rewarded by doctoral candidates according to the decisions of the NTUA Senate and the university’s regulation. Further information on funding sources for doctoral candidates can be obtained by contacting the Secretariat for Post-Graduate Studies.